Leg 3: Frankfurt

Frankfurt, home of frankfurters (?) and a much larger city than I had anticipated.  Unfortunately for me, I’m a big dummy and I forgot to put my SD card back in my camera after uploading pictures last night, so all I have is iPhone pictures.  I doubt you would have noticed unless I told you, but just a heads up.

I woke up at the early hour of 6AM to jackhammering and another girl’s alarm, which she proceeded to snooze for about an hour and a half until she finally decided she wasn’t getting up and turned it off.  I spent that whole time trying in vain to connect to the WiFi that is only supposed to be used in the lobby, and I found a spot right by the edge of my bed that, if I was perfectly still, I could get things to load.  Yay for cheating the system!

Tayler and I had a free breakfast at the hostel, and then set out to check out what seemed like the center of Frankfurt.  We wandered around a big shopping district, and then the buildings slowly morphed from super modern to what I’d imagine a typical old European town to look like.

Photo Mar 23, 10 14 35

I just really liked the juxtaposition of the old and the new in this city.

We checked out the Frankfurter Dom, which had one of the tallest ceilings I’ve seen.

Photo Mar 23, 10 50 08

There was a lot of construction going on, but the outside was still very beautiful.

Photo Mar 23, 10 49 26

We wasted some time drinking one of the best cappuccinos I’ve ever had, and then walked down to a street with like ten museums on it.  We eventually settled on a museum that was on the other side of the river (and almost the other side of town) the Naturmuseum Senckenberg.

Photo Mar 23, 11 49 44

Photo Mar 23, 14 33 46

Fun fact, this sculpture is right outside of the museum and Tayler and I snapped pics of it because we thought it was adorable, but then one of Tayler’s friends informed us that if you were looking at it from the other side, it would say hate.  So there’s that.

Thanks to the student discount coming in clutch at every museum I’ve been to, Tayler and I got in for 4 Euros each.  It was actually one of the cooler natural history museums I’ve been to.

Photo Mar 23, 12 37 03

They had a huge fossil/dinosaur collection and I was a huge fan of that.

Photo Mar 23, 12 52 15

Fossilized fish in Frankfurt.

Photo Mar 23, 13 31 41

This is about as close to the beach as I’ll get this spring break *cries a little*

I HATE birds and they had a whole hall of birds.  This is what I looked like when I was faced with this hall of birds:

Photo Mar 23, 13 53 02

As usual, Tayler and I were up to our usual shenanigans.

Photo Mar 23, 14 11 26

 

After finishing up at the museum, we had a late lunch and headed back to the hostel to take the afternoon off and just recuperate after a stressful day yesterday.  The hostel has a surprisingly cozy lobby, and even though they are currently blasting trap-rap radio (Katie Wolfert, where you at?) I’ve enjoyed the past few hours I’ve spent mindlessly surfing the Internet here.

After communicating with our Paris tour guide, the company that runs the tours, consulting the United States and France travel warnings, and talking to our parents, Tayler and I have made the executive decision to continue on to Paris tomorrow.  We’ll be boarding a bus tomorrow at 9:00 AM and we’ll get into Paris about 9 hours later.

For being a transit city, Frankfurt isn’t all that bad.  I stayed at a very nice hostel with free breakfast and dinner which is literally a minute from the train station, and there are some things to do.  Not much, but some.  Frankfurt may not rank highly on my list of places I’ve visited, but chances are that if I had to use Frankfurt as a rest stop again, I’d gladly do it.

  1. Venice
  2. Munich
  3. Vienna
  4. Amsterdam
  5. Frankfurt
  6. Munich from the bus station to the train station (See “Do You Even Travel” for more info)

I didn’t take many pictures in Frankfurt, so I don’t have any extra pictures for this blog, but I promise I’ll make up for it in Paris!  Thanks for reading, and sorry for how short it was!

Leave a comment